top of page


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 13, 1913 by 22 collegiate women at Howard University to promote academic excellence and provide assistance to those in need.

North Jersey Alumnae’s commitment to sisterhood, scholarship and service dates back to June 11, 1939 when fourteen women established the Kappa Sigma Chapter (now NJAC) – the first chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. in the State of New Jersey.

The Chapter dedicated itself to organizing and moving toward full civil rights for “colored people”. “The right to learn and the right to an education” soon became their creed. Kappa Sigma was a catalyst for the development of one of the first “colored” Girl Scout units in northern New Jersey and for the founding of the Teen Lift Program. Members raised funds for a maternity ward in Liberia, West Africa and produced the first Jabberwock in downtown Newark fueling the first scholarship award of $250. Kappa Sigma Chapter was the trailblazer for many chapters chartered in New Jersey, most notably Delta Zeta, the first undergraduate chapter in the state. In 1956, Kappa Sigma was renamed North Jersey Alumnae Chapter.

Over the years, the chapter moved toward the development of projects and programs that have gained national recognition for scholarship and service. However, the chapter’s greatest honor comes from the thousands of young people who have benefited from the Sorority’s programs through academic scholarships and programs such as Delta Teen Lift, Dr. Betty Shabazz Delta Academy, Delta GEMS, and School America. Today, with a chapter membership of more than 200 members committed to the ideals of the Sorority, the North Jersey Alumnae Chapter continues to serve the northern New Jersey communities in Essex, Hudson and Union counties and is one of, if not THE largest chapter in the state.


President: Sharon Hardesty
1st Vice President: Renee Y. Belton
2nd Vice President: Tawana Bivins Rosenbaum
Treasurer: Adina Williams

Assistant Treasurer: Dale A. Forde
Financial Secretary: Paulette Hobbs 
Assistant Financial Secretary: April Hill Jones
Recording Secretary: Shaunte Saunders
Corresponding Secretary: Jalissa Diggs
Journalist: Brett Savage-Simon

Internal Audit Chair: Dorita Newsome-Dobbins
Chaplains Council: Kimberly K. Holmes, Elizabeth Crook, Marilyn Williams, Mary Martin
Historian: Lisa E. Harris
Custodian of Properties: Jasmine Hardesty
Sergeants-at-Arms: Antanik Thompson

Assistant Sergeants-at-Arms: Michelle Jones

Parliamentarian: Vanessa Sifford Crawford 

Nominating Chair: Ericka Shoulars

Nominating Committee: Van Adams, Jasmine Martin, JoAnne Raines, Kimaada Sills


Gertrude Morris*  (1939-1941)

Edna M. Bullock*  (1941-1943)

Bertell C. Wright*  (1943-1946)

Althea Richards*  (1946-1948)
Marcia Williams*  (1948-1950)
Marie Carpenter,PhD.*  (1950-1952)
Lena Edwards,M.D.*  (1952-1953)
Alice Walker Creed*  (1953-1955)
Dorothy Herbert*  (1955-1957)
Dorothy Gould*  (1957-1959)
Alverada Pullie*  (1959-1961)
Carole T. Reynolds*  (1961-1963)
Ollie Washington  (1963-1965)
Alfreda Robinson*  (1965-1967)
Myrtis Twyman  (1967-1969)
Cornelia Gladden  (1969-1971)
Pansy R. King  (1971-1973)
Kara Smith  (1973-1975)
Catherine Hepburn  (1975-1977)
Daisy Yarbrough  (1977-1979)
Josephine Crozier Wilson (1979-1981)
Mollie Smith (1981-1983)
Sheila Thorpe (1983-1985)    
Vashti Holt* (1985-1987)
Felicia Jamison, Ed.D. (1987-1989)
Cheryl Whitley-Crawford (1989-1991)
Pamela Gardner (1991-1993)
Gwendolyn Slaton (1993-1995) 
Stephanie Culpepper (1995-1997)
Elizabeth Crook (1997-1999)
Betty Robinson (1999-2001)
Oedies Williams (2001-2003)
Wandra Perry Hartsfield (2003-2005)
Deborah Harman* (2005-2007)
Sharon Foushee (2007-2009)
Vanessa Sifford (2009-2011)
Lisa E. Harris (2011-2013)
Elethia D. Baldwin (2013-2015)
Monica D. Burton,PhD. (2015-2017)

Ericka A. Shoulars (2017-2019)

Dorita Newsome-Dobbins, D.M.D. (2019-2021)



Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is an organization of college educated women committed to the constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the Black community.


 Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. is a private, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Since its founding more than 300,000 women have joined the organization. The organization is a sisterhood of predominantly Black, college educated women. The sorority currently has 1,000 collegiate and alumnae chapters located in the United States, Canada, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica and the Republic of Korea. The major programs of the Sorority are based upon the organization’s Five-Point Programmatic Thrust: ● Economic Development ● Educational Development ● International Awareness and Involvement ● Physical and Mental Health ● Political Awareness and Involvement For more information, visit our national website at Visit the Eastern Region’s website at

bottom of page